Author
Discussion

Liamelliott

Original Poster:

5 posts

67 months

Tuesday 14th March
quotequote all
Hi, would like a rough diagnosis if possible. Just started what was supposed to be a 600 mile journey in my camper, 3 miles in and the car was making weird whining a clunky sounds, then it felt as though something went, so I turned off the road and as I turned it felt like the brakes were pushed really hard. I got out checked the engine, nothing to see really, weirdly the windscreen washer bottle was leaking water? I managed to drive it further up the road to leave it until later. The van drives but there’s lot of noises and quite bad vibrations, seems to go into all the gears as normal, I drove it about 100 yards before it felt as though it stalled and slammed the brakes on again, then I smelt a slight clutchy kind of smell. As you can tell I’m no expert, would just like a guess at what part of the system went wrong so I can do some more research. Thanks a lot for any help.

LunarOne

3,851 posts

124 months

Tuesday 14th March
quotequote all
Top lurkathon.

Sounds like you've either had a piston or rod break, or a cylinder isn't firing. Your van probably didn't take kindly to being called "car". Is it petrol or diesel? If petrol, let it idle and pull each spark plug cable. If one of them makes no difference, then it could be a bad plug, cable or ignition. Very difficult to say with so little information. Don't you have any mechanically inclined friends who can take a look?

Liamelliott

Original Poster:

5 posts

67 months

Tuesday 14th March
quotequote all
Hi, thanks for your reply, I’ll make sure to apologies to my van when I go recover it later lol. It’s a petrol, so let it idle and then take out each spark plug and see if the engines idle changes? And if it’s not spark plug I have a much bigger problem I presume. I’ve done some research on what you said and the symptoms do sound very similar, unfortunately don’t have any mechanic friends here in Portugal.